top of page

Fiji


I've found it difficult to find good recipes for Oceanic countries since I don't eat fish, so I try to substitute where I can. It usually leaves a lot to be desired. Fish isn't something that's easily imitated. So when I decided to use cubed tofu in this recipe for kokoda--Fiji's version of ceviche--I wasn't expecting much. But I ended up pleasantly surprised.

I started with cubing the tofu and using my favorite tofu cooking method: simply baking without any oil or seasoning. I don't really press my tofu like so many recipes suggest doing. I've been eating tofu for over 10 years and I'm here to tell you it's not really necessary. I use extra firm wherever possible, then lightly squeeze the block over the sink to push out any excess water from each side. I then pat it mostly dry with some paper towels. I then slice/cube the tofu and bake it at 350-375 until it dries out some more. After that I add seasonings or marinades. Baking it allows for more of the liquid to be removed and also firms up the texture even more. For this recipe, I only baked it just started turning very lightly golden, because I didn't want the texture to be firm and crispy.

Meanwhile, I prepared my veggies. The recipe I used called for bell pepper, chili pepper, tomatoes, and onion. I don't remember what kind of hot pepper I used, but I do remember it not being too overwhelmingly spicy.

Lime juice is one of the most important parts of this dish. If using actual fish, it's the lime juice that "cooks" the fish, just as in ceviche. For me, it was mostly just for flavor. I decided to use fresh limes for the best flavor, rather than lime juice in a bottle.

For times when I have to juice several limes or lemons, I'm thankful for the citrus reamer attachment on my food processor. It makes quick work of it, while making sure as much of the juice and pulp is harvested.

I marinated my tofu in the freshly-squeezed lime juice while I combined the rest of the ingredients.

I just wanted to take a picture of these bright, pretty lime peels.

Once unique feature of this dish is the addition of coconut cream. I used the hard fat from a can of coconut milk mixed with some of the liquid from the can to create a pourable consistency.

I then mixed the tofu with the coconut cream, and added in the rest of my ingredients, along with some salt and pepper. I cut my tomatoes super small because Chris isn't the biggest fan of fresh tomato.


Once it's all mixed together it's allowed to rest a little longer so the flavors meld. The flavor of this dish is so good. You have the brightness of the lime juice with the creaminess of the coconut milk, mixed with the slight punch of chili peppers and the vegetable taste of the peppers, onions, and tomatoes. Honestly this is such a great summer dish and I can understand why it's popular in Fiji. Definitely need to file this one away for "make again."


Recipes Used: Kokoda

Comments


bottom of page