top of page

Iran

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

For Iran, I made something I've never had or even heard of before. Fesenjān (or fesenjoon) is a stew made with ground walnuts, pomegranate, and chicken--or chickpeas in my case. Usually one would use pomegranate molasses for this, but since I couldn't find any, I simply reduced some pomegranate juice down to a syrup consistency. The sweet/tart flavor of the pomegranate was a nice contrast to the savory walnuts and chickpeas. I usually don't like walnuts, but they were really good toasted, ground down in the food processor, and mixed with everything else. This dish tasted really complex, but was super easy to make. A+ in my book. I served the stew on top of a bed of rice and topped with fresh parsley.









Recipes Used: this cookbook

Yorumlar


bottom of page