top of page

Argentina

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

I was really excited about Argentina, since I've made empanadas many times before, and they've always turned out great. This time, however, I was somehow so distracted while making them that I ended up mixing the dough wrong twice. The first time I forgot to put the butter in before I mixed in the wet ingredients, and the second time I didn't add enough flour so I had to add it after mixing everything together, so the butter didn't get cut into all of the flour correctly. Despite the slightly too-dense dough, they still came out okay. I filled them with spinach, black beans, cheese, and peppers (which I pickled myself!)


I also made alfajores, cookies made out of cornstarch replacing most of the flour, creating a silky but crumbly texture. Another frustrating part of this installment of the project was that it was impossible to find dulce de leche to put in between the cookies! I ended up having to make it by putting an entire can of sweetened condensed milk in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours. It worked really well though!








Bonus picture of my own personal dishwasher. I probably wouldn't cook such elaborate dishes if I didn't have someone to clean up after me:


Recipes Used: Alfajores // personal recipe for empanadas

Comments


bottom of page