top of page

Indonesia

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

I knew that I wanted to do something from an Asian country while on vacation, because there's a great Asian supermarket in North Charleston that I was excited about going to. For this dish, I decided to go with the Indonesian soup called sayur lodeh. This dish originated on the island of Java, and according to Wikipedia, is "an essential part of the slametan ceremony and it is believed as tolak bala, to ward off possible danger and disaster. The people and the Keraton (court) of Yogyakarta often communally cook sayur lodeh for the slametan ceremony. It is believed this can deter disasters such as wind storm, earthquake, volcanic eruption, drought and plague."


My version of the curry was a bit different from what Wikipedia describes, but kind of an amalgamation of different recipes I found online. It's basically just a coconut milk curry with various vegetables. The version I made is "yellow," meaning I used a bunch of turmeric. I included onion, potatoes, carrots, bok choy, lots of ginger, and tofu.


I've made loads of coconut curries, but this one was special because my dad got to come over and help eat it (and because I bought a huge amount of bok choy at the Asian market he was able to take about half of it off our hands)!




Recipes Used: Sayur Lodeh

Comments


bottom of page