top of page

Ireland

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

Happy St. Patrick's Day! Today I made colcannon and Irish soda bread. Colcannon is a dish made from mashed potatoes, cabbage (or other greens), and onions (I used leeks) topped with plenty of butter. There's actually a traditional Irish song dedicated to it! I don't know if traditional colcannon ever includes the potato peels, but I felt like it would be a waste to throw them out, so I left them in.


As for the soda bread, I made it the traditional way, with only flour, buttermilk (sour milk might be more traditional, but no thanks), salt, and baking soda. I'll never understand why people need to ruin perfectly good bread with raisins.


Anyway, the bread was perfect with a bit of butter and a Guinness on the side.












Recipes Used: Colcannon // Soda Bread

Comments


bottom of page